Life of Pi

So my mother apparently adored this movie, so for Mother’s Day my brother and I agreed to watch it with her. And Lucas came away loving it too and I came away with absolutely no idea what happened in the movie at all.

Granted, we’d gone swimming earlier and I’d fallen asleep in the car, came in, ate some food and then we watched this movie, but I think it still would have been a hard one for me to stay awake through regardless.

So here’s what I remember:

Rafe Spall was also in Shaun of the Dead and has since gotten much more attractive.

Rafe Spall was also in Shaun of the Dead and has since gotten much more attractive.

Opening credits. And we’re lucky I didn’t already fall asleep here, cause it’s a slow-ass montage of the animals in the zoo.

Then we come to older Pi talking Timothy Spall’s son and telling him the story of how he was named after a swimming pool and eventually nicknamed himself, which is I’m sure against the rules of nicknames, but you’ve got to do what you have to do to get by.

I vaguely remember something about the storm? Anyway, then Pi’s on a dinghy with other animals! Who all get promptly killed by the tiger. Pi spends a lot of time in the water. Oh and the scene with the flying fish, which I’d already seen in some interview with Ang Lee.

Close-up on Pi’s face telling the story about his mother and how he ended up on the boat, which seemed radically different than what we saw happened.

The end.

Seriously, I've seen this scene like 5 times.

Seriously, I’ve seen this scene like 5 times.

I’m pretty sure I actually saw more of this movie than that, but now it’s been a couple of days and that’s literally all I remember. It’s not helped by the fact that huge portions have no dialogue, which will usually seep into my brain, even if I’m half-asleep and make it’s way into my dreams so my brain can pretend I’m still watching, even though my eyes are closed.

I’ll probably try and watch this again, but it may take me a couple of viewings in order to get through it, and I’m just not sure I care that much.

sleepingpants1smallsleepingpants1smallsleepingpants1smallsleepingpants1smallsleepingpants1small
5/5 Sleeping Pants

Leave a Reply

